Hobart is the state capital and most populous city of Tasmania. Founded in 1804 as a penal colony, Hobart is Australia's second oldest capital city after Sydney. A resident of Hobart is known as a "Hobartian".

The city is located in the state's south-east on the estuary of the Derwent River. The skyline is dominated by Mount Wellington at 1,271m high. Hobart has access to a number of beach areas including those in the Derwent estuary itself; Sandy Bay, Cornelian Bay, Nutgrove, Kingston, Bellerive, and Howrah Beaches as well as many more in Frederick Henry Bay such as; Seven Mile, Roaches, Cremorne, Clifton, and Goats Beaches.

Hobart has a mild temperate oceanic climate. The highest temperature recorded was 40.8°C on 4 January 1976 and the lowest was −2.8°C on 25 June 1972. Compared to other major Australian cities, Hobart has the second fewest daily average hours of sunshine, with 5.9 hours per day, Melbourne having the fewest. However, during the summer it has the most hours of daylight of any Australian city, with 15.2 hours on the summer solstice.

Hobart is praised for its arts, food and scenery by Lonely Planet, placing at number 7 for their "Best in Travel 2013" publication, and was the only Australian city to feature in the list.